Skip to content

Painting Exercise -part 1- of the 'Great Piece of Turf' by Durer.

October 5, 2010


‘Great Piece of Turf’ by Albrecht Durer, progress part 1

I had a thought the other day I would like a practise session (or two) by copying an old master painting (something I have not done before in this way). Looking at the ‘Great Piece of Turf’ (1503) by Durer was what gave me this thought. An image I saw as greatly refined and only an image that could be seen as a painter who had mastered each detail separately, it represents a multitude specimen paintings all in one i.e. only years of his complete observation an ‘seeing’ could produce. Then there was someone asking for people to send this type of work to them. This may have made me rush to do this exercise extremely quickly.. here’ s a marker pen tracing before painting (using a plastic surface for the ground)… Interpretation through the copy is the route I’m taking.

I will post the progress of this image.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

