Skip to content

Shadows in the Studio.

December 28, 2010

The Depth of Shadows in the Studio:

Always looking for different methods to draw by, while projecting my drawings and photographs onto canvas or paper it only seems obvious to use the real thing. Alas! Does it only seem ‘obvious’ after I had come across it in the studio. Being aware of other artists using shadows and silhouettes such as Kara Walker doesn’t put me off if the accident feels like it was mine (not to mention an entirely different end result).

Over the time I have used projection as alternative method to draw from. So far I have been fairly strict in not using distortion, no major reason except intuition telling me that isn’t the game I’m in.

The mock stage set area here turns flat images toward introducing a shallow depth, a slight three-dimensional space in which the plants can seemingly move, grow and twist around my paintings in present production, you could say this is the depth of shadows in the studio.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. asrai7 permalink
    December 28, 2010 11:21 pm

    I had never thought about using shadowsx as a drawing method. Although I mainly draw from life, I think it would be liberating to be able to distort the forms presented in front of you.

    • December 30, 2010 6:34 pm

      You’re right! But, I avoid one as a the others attract; such as enlarging the images, synchronising, multiplying, overlaying, abstracting.. so many options- before we even talk about content.

  2. December 28, 2010 8:45 pm

    This image is profoundly interesting and beautiful at the same time. It makes me want to see more.

Leave a Reply

