Skip to content

Mural in Sucre, Bolivia: ‘El otro arbol de la vida’.

June 25, 2023
tags:

Inspiration for this mural came from the white walls of the city which cast beautiful shadows of the saplings and trees, especially at night near random sources of light. As the branches and leaves undulate with the sutle movements. At this time I felt I was starting to be reinvented (one of the many reasons we travel off-piste so to speak). I believe I fell in love, fell back in love with people and the enjoyment of being alone yet far from lonely.

My diary was dense during this time; the Bolivian out-of-this-world landscapes, a people and place enchanting and that I was getting to experience slowly, my personal daily determined learning of Spanish (not my forte but slowly have made a debatable fluency) as well as the odd useful word in Quecha, meeting travellers some of whom were in the midst of being hit with a jump in altitude, nights out with Bolivians and travellers equally with conversations that opened up, to befriending the friendly stray dogs – with my travel pack of dry dog food.

This mural was made two parts. Firstly my lifestyle in Sucre felt dramatic and alive. So who could blame me for wanting to return after taking to travelling further into Bolivia. When I asked if I could do another mural, my answer from the the owners of this amazing Colonial building said something along the lines of: Yes! Paint what you what where you want. Perfect answer. I was happy I returned to complete the part on the staircase.

A dedicated website for the rest of my murals can be found here. TheMuralofMurals.com

No comments yet

Leave a comment